This section processes the sale of property for non-payment of real estate taxes upon notification from the St. Johns County Tax Collector. Properties are offered for sale to the highest bidder in order to satisfy delinquent property taxes. The Clerk’s Office conducts the sale or public auction in accordance with Florida Statutes, Chapter 197 and the Florida Administrative Code, Chapter 12D-13.
Tax Certificates are sold yearly by the Tax Collector on properties with delinquent taxes. Upon request of the certificate holder for a tax deed sale, the certificate is forwarded to the Clerk and a Tax Deed Sale is held. The highest bidder will be issued a Tax Deed on the property.
All properties are sold “AS IS” and bidders are responsible for conducting their own research as to the condition of the property and the state of the title of the property being sold. YOU MUST DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH FOR EACH PROPERTY or consult with someone who can advise you legally. The Clerk’s Office makes no warranties or representation about the location or condition regarding any property, the condition of structures or fixtures, its marketability, existing or potential uses, zoning regulations or laws that may affect current or future uses of the property, outstanding or potential liens, mortgages or encumbrances or defects in title that may exist.
This is a sale of the Tax Certificate and not necessarily a clear and marketable title to the property.
There is no case filed in court and no court order is issued for the Clerk to conduct a Tax Deed Sale.
The Clerk cannot assist in researching properties, nor can we give legal advice.
Tax Deed files and document images are available for viewing online at:
TAX DEED SALES – Online Listings
St. Johns County
TAX DEED SEARCH
TAX DEED SALES POINTS OF INTEREST
Notice of pending tax deed sales are published in the St. Augustine Record four weeks prior to the sale date.
- Sale Time:
Tax Deed Sales will be held at 12:00 noon on the day of the sale unless the property is redeemed prior to the sale.
- Participation in the Auction:
To participate in a Tax Deed Sale auction, arrive at the courthouse 15 minutes before the auction is scheduled to begin. You will need to check in with the Clerk in the Recording Department. There is no preregistration required in order to participate in the bidding.
You should research the property before you bid. Once the bidding starts, it cannot be interrupted. Please refrain from excessive, loud, and inappropriate conversations and/or comments. Cell phones must be turned off or set on vibrate. You are expected to follow any direction given by the Clerk. Any bidding increments are acceptable. You or a representative must be physically present at the sale to bid on the property.
Note: It is very important to understand what you are purchasing at the sale and whether there may be any liens on the property.
- Successful Bidder:
If you win the bid, the successful high bidder will be required to pay a non-refundable deposit equal to the greater of the 5% of the final bid or $200 AT THE TIME OF THE SALE. Payment must be made by cash or certified funds. Personal checks and credit/debit card will NOT be accepted.
In accordance with state law, the highest bidder has 24 hours to pay any additional costs associated with the sale. Payment must be made by cash or certified funds. Personal checks and credit/debit card will NOT be accepted.
At the end of the sale successful bidder must provide name and address as you want it to appear on the Tax Deed.
FOR MORE INFORMATION about the requirements for bidding, payments, surplus funds and more please contact the Tax Deed Department at 904-819-3657. firstname.lastname@example.org
Current tax deed sale files are available for inspection in the Official Records Division
For additional information on Tax Deed sales, please see Tax Deeds Frequently Asked Questions.
TAX DEED FEES:
The fees for Tax Deed Sales are set by Florida Statutes. The fee chart below shows how the fees are determined. Fees shall be paid to the Clerk of the Circuit Court by the party whose instance is made. Fees will vary according to each individual case.
|Opening||$60 application fee||28.24(21)|
|$40 Sherriff fee per person to be served||30.231(1)(a)|
|Sale day||$200 deposit or 5% of highest bid whichever is greater||197.542(2)|
|Winning bid||Final bid amount (minus deposit); recording fee; doc stamps|
|Surplus||$10 Clerk fee||28.24(22)|
|Disbursement of Proceeds||197.582(2)|
A tax deed sale surplus occurs when a tax deed sale for a particular property results in the final selling price being higher than the opening bid amount. Excess proceeds shall be held and disbursed per Florida Statute 197.582. If funds are Unclaimed, The Clerk shall list the information on the Unclaimed Tax Deed Surplus List.
GENERAL INFORMATION NOTICE:
Information provided by the Clerk of Circuit Court should be considered as basic information only and may not be applicable to every situation. The information is not intended to be used as legal advice. Specific guidance concerning tax deed sales should be directed to a qualified attorney.